electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » electro-music.com
Alpha electro-music.com media player - help...
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17553
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK, I'm still on the track. I never cease to amaze myself at the projects I can get into to waste time.

Anyhow. I couldn't find anything on the web that does what I want it to do, so I wrote my own program. No big deal but a really complicated mess. Anyway, I need people to try it out.

Click on this link and that will start the media player. http://electro-music.com/openjuke.htm and then click on the Jukebox link. I know it's complicated but this is development baby,

It just has one song now. I expect to have a selector box under the "buy it here" link so you can pick other songs. (Didn't say pieces because I'm not an elitest.) Before I jump into that part of the project, I need to know if the window opens and the music plays and you can see all the information. It should look like this:
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Thanks in advance for those that try it out. I would appreciate any suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
themoors



Joined: Dec 15, 2003
Posts: 148
Location: northern england

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hmm dunno if youve been playing round with it since ive been tring to get it too work...but i now have sound. In IE 6 i can hear the tune from pressing what i can see of the play button, the bar doesnt seem to load properly, in mozilla firefox the play/stop ect bar is simply not there and when i click on the where the play button should be im taken to this site.. http://plugins.netscape.com/plug-in_finder.adp?mimetype=text/plain
Its says i need to install Data Detective PC Search, which costs money...

hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17553
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I was affraid of this kind of thing. I have QuickTime pluggin (free) loaded. It's the best player I've found because it will start playing mp3s while they are being downloaded - poor man's streaming.

I just made a fix that should fix the tiny play button. Please try again. I appreciate your help.

Do you see the informational part of the window ok?

What player pluggin are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
paul e.



Joined: Sep 22, 2003
Posts: 1567
Location: toronto, canada
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

worked perfectly for me

netscape 7.1 on Mac

that fact you programmed it makes it even cooler

i have been looking all around for this kind of solution..the best i can get is java scripts for sizing windows where the 'poor man streaming' quicktime players opens up

nice work mosc

_________________
Spiral Recordings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
play



Joined: Feb 08, 2004
Posts: 490
Location: behind the mustard
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well it looks pretty ::)

I'm running opera 7. The play bar is really skinny, no text. When I click it I get an error that says: "This page wants you to download a plug-in but doesn't specify which one." mime-type header?

cool project though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
play



Joined: Feb 08, 2004
Posts: 490
Location: behind the mustard
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok. I downloaded quicktime and tried it again. This time it appears to have downloaded the whole file but no play controls.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
paul e.



Joined: Sep 22, 2003
Posts: 1567
Location: toronto, canada
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sounds like you need to tweak your browser mime/setting for .m3u.
_________________
Spiral Recordings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
zynthetix



Joined: Jun 12, 2003
Posts: 838
Location: nyc
Audio files: 10
G2 patch files: 13

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Works fine for my IE browser...although it looks like this
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
I have quicktime, but I don't know why the window's media player "transport" half appeared instead of the quicktime "transport". Is that a setting I have to reconfigure?

regardless, the sound works fine, and thats what matters.
good stuff!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
seraph
Editor
Editor


Joined: Jun 21, 2003
Posts: 12056
Location: Firenze, Italy
Audio files: 31
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mosc wrote:

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Thanks in advance for those that try it out. I would appreciate any suggestions.

gee.....I open this thread and see my face Shocked
anyway it looks (and sounds) fine to me: I opened the jukebox with Apple's Safari.
A brand new and cool feature indeed Very Happy

_________________
homepage - blog - forum - youtube

Quote:
Politics is the entertainment division of the military industrial complex - Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21969
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Works fine here too.. same as it does for Carlo...
It seems that another kinda API is called when you get that weird screendraw

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17553
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks much guys. If anyone else has any feedback, please add it to this thread. I'll make some fixes and post them on a new topic, like "alpha2", or maybe "beta1" or something.

Finding documentation on plugins is a bitch. I am using a bit of JavaScript, and will certainly need more. There is no standard window size for the plugins, so what looks nice for QuickTime doesn't look so good with Windows Media Player. It is characteristically fatter. Evil or Very Mad I probably have to figure out how to detect which pluggin is being used, and if none is configured, pop up some message telling the user to get one.

Does anyone have any experience with pluggins? I would like to get a signal from pluggin as to when it finishes playing the track.

Sudden, not using m3u now, just mp3. I'm planning on making an extended m3u type format, which has the information for the description, pics, links, etc.

Noiseusse, I don't have Opera 7. Do they offer a free version I could get to try out?

Zynth, please don't change a thing. You're system is using Windows Media Player. That is very important for me to use to test things.

Thanks again guys... love
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21969
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

http://developer.apple.com/documentation/quicktime/QuickTime.html







http://homepage.mac.com/qt4web/Personal.html

http://developer.apple.com/quicktime/

http://www.imagemontage.com/QTTalkFAQ.html


You could just recommend people using the QT package? And then have a choice in the player window.. for an alternative verison for people using wmp??

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17553
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

elektro80 wrote:

You could just recommend people using the QT package? And then have a choice in the player window.. for an alternative verison for people using wmp??

Yes, I'm leaning towards this. QT is free. I can detect if it is there or not, and if not, say "You need quick time for the electro-box to work. To get it, click here." I'll only do as a last resort though. It would make it easier for me, if not the users. (I hate myself for even thinking that.)

You're links were pretty helpful. I'm still reading there. There is a lot there that is relevant for pluggins in general, not just QT. But, it is clear there aren't any standards for the way the APIs work.

I'm pretty sure that I can get this to work for individual songs pretty easilly now. I'm not going to display the WMP or the QT controls. Instead, I'll just put up my own buttons. PLAY, STOP, maybe PAUSE; the actual player will stay hidden.

I'll hacking a bit today. I'll leave the alpha stuff there if anyone else is interested in trying it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » electro-music.com
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use