electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
110-115V to 220-230V or visa versa
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 3 of 3 [65 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

One thing is luck, the exact moment of switch on relative to the current phase angle of the mains voltage determines what will happen.

The other thing may be that the mains voltage happened to be a bit on the low side in one occasion and a bit on the high side in another, there can easily be a deviation of like plus 5% or minus 10% relative to the nominal voltage.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
varice



Joined: Dec 29, 2004
Posts: 726
Location: Northeastern shore of Toledo Bend
Audio files: 22
G2 patch files: 49

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Also, the step-down voltage convertor may not be well regulated (especially if is just a passive step-down transformer), which could result in the output being more than 115V.

But, with a proper 250ma Slow-Blow type fuse, you should be good to go.

_________________
varice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
re



Joined: Jan 07, 2012
Posts: 2
Location: australia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi guys - newbie here, not to Nords, but to swapping voltages and the like. I recently moved from Canada to Australia and brought along my Electro 2 and a Nord Piano. Each have switches for voltage, no problem there. However, I'm trying to source new fuses.. the back of each Nord states "115V 300mA". Wondering if I should be looking for 150mA fuses for each? Any help appreciated, thx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah that should work, make sure they are slow blow (T Type).

and welcome

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
varice



Joined: Dec 29, 2004
Posts: 726
Location: Northeastern shore of Toledo Bend
Audio files: 22
G2 patch files: 49

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello re Exclamation welcome to the electro-music forum Exclamation

Yes, for a 230VAC mains, 150mA slow blow fuses are what you need to replace 300mA fuses used for 115VAC.

Now that’s one hell of a relocation – Canada to Australia Exclamation Good luck in your new home in the land down under.

_________________
varice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
re



Joined: Jan 07, 2012
Posts: 2
Location: australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks everyone, 150mA seems to have done the trick.
As for the relocation, not gonna lie, it's pretty nice down here right now and it's a welcome change from snow and ice and cold.
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ndiiorio



Joined: Aug 10, 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Buenos Aires Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello my friends! I currently bought a Nord Piano 2 in the US! And i am waiting for it to get to my country which is Buenos Aires Argentina! The piano will be 110 and here we have 220 voltage. So I understand I can open the piano and change the voltage but I am somehow confused with the fuse. I should get a 230/250v 125mA slow bow fuses (T Type)? or 150mA? I saw in the second post that after 2000 nord products for 220 is 125 right? And whats all that about the types? I will be greatful with the answer! I want to be prepared when my piano gets here! I don't want to break something :S jajaja thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Re. the fuse .. slow blow means that it will stay alive when you switch the synth on ... and the worst thing that can happen is that the fuse blows (when you correctly switched the device to the right voltage of course ;-) )

Removed your duplicate post BTW.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ndiiorio



Joined: Aug 10, 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Buenos Aires Argentina

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So am I correct with the fuse? I think they delete my post because I don't find it! Sorry for the double post!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes I removed it Wink

And yes you are correct about the fuse.

If still not certain look what fuse is in it now, and divide the mA or A rating by 2 ... so if it now says 300 mA you'll want 150 mA ... and when it now says 250 mA you'll want 125 mA ...

When the value is on the low side the fuse may blow occasionally, but it is not too critical and it will not damage anything, just up it a bit when it blows occasionally.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rjp2



Joined: Oct 01, 2010
Posts: 6
Location: West Coast

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i'm in montreal canada what is the proper fuse for me to use on my nord rack? the back sticker says 115V 250mA slow blow but the one currently inside says 1/4A 250V and looks like a regular fuse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes .. 1/4 A == 250 mA Shocked Laughing
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ark



Joined: Mar 06, 2008
Posts: 676
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

In case the preceding explanation was not clear: The voltage rating on a fuse doesn't matter as long as it's higher than the voltage you're using. So if you need a 250 mA 110V fuse, you can use one marked 250 mA or 1/4 A, which are equivalent, so long as the rating is 110V or more (i.e. you shouldn't use a 6V fuse, because it's not guaranteed that if that fuse blows, it will really interrupt a high-voltage circuit). So a fuse marked 250 mA at either 125V or 250V will work fine.

As for fast-blow vs. slow-blow: If you substitute a fast-blow fuse for a slow-blow one, it may blow when it shouldn't. If you substitute the other way around, a fault might fry your circuitry where the fast-blow fuse might have protected it. So if a slow-blow fuse is acceptable, you shouldn't worry about what kind of fuse you have unless it blows; then replace it with a slow-blow Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That last issue got resolved in the chatroom BTW ... turned out to not be a fuse problem but a MIDI related problem Rolling Eyes
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jonah



Joined: Sep 29, 2012
Posts: 11
Location: us

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

so i was at radio shack to buy a 250 mA fuse for a nord modular g2 and i noticed they all had amp ratings as well Surprised ....what's the right one to get? thanks.

oh did i confuse 250v with 250 mA uhhg. Embarassed too tired.

note to self don't insert fuse holder without fuse. Shocked that is not a safe place to keep it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 3 of 3 [65 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use