electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Mountain Lion and G2 Software
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 2 of 2 [33 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3869
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I wouldn't trust that cpu meter if multicore/multiprocessor support is turned on in Live, better to check with activity monitor.

I don't think RME have release their Mountain Lion drivers yet but Lion is supported, I am using the lion RME drivers on Mountain Lion and they seem to work fine to me.

There really shouldn't be much difference between cpu usage from SL to lion as the kernel has not changed much, Lion had enhancements for multi core stuff so should perform a small amount better than SL.

Your new machine should be much much faster than your old 13" i5, especially with that much ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 150
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:
I wouldn't trust that cpu meter if multicore/multiprocessor support is turned on in Live, better to check with activity monitor.

I can try my machine with monitor, but those are result in a forum, and I don't have the opportunity to tes bost systems by myself.
BobTheDog wrote:

I don't think RME have release their Mountain Lion drivers yet but Lion is supported, I am using the lion RME drivers on Mountain Lion and they seem to work fine to

I'll try Mountain Lion.
BobTheDog wrote:

Your new machine should be much much faster than your old 13" i5, especially with that much ram.

Especially now, because the old one is dead Smile
But it seems the diference is not what it could be. 29-30%cpu load to 21-24%... in ableton display (you are right, it should be better to test with monitor... and to see the influence of the quad cores... Maybe it's really better to handle a lot of tracks. The main diference was between C2Duo and Sandy Bridge! I think Cpu load isn't the most important. I wish I had a very stable computer without any audio dropout. That's still not the case with Ableton, but it's maybe more a soft problem. I tried Cubase, Logic and especially Reaper with very good results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3869
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm gradually going of live, it seems to require much larger buffer sizes than anything else.

Turning off multiprocessor allows you to get the latency down but then you run out of CPU, catch 22.

I'm hoping that bitwig will be a bit more performant or maybe ableton could do some recoding for the more recent processors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 150
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:

Turning off multiprocessor allows you to get the latency down but then you run out of CPU, catch 22.

I'm hoping that bitwig will be a bit more performant or maybe ableton could do some recoding for the more recent processors.


I didn't know that. I'm also waiting for bitwig!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Roland Kuit wrote:
And this trick from Luca Capozi?
http://www.progsounds.com/blog/nord-modular-g2-demo-on-osx-lion
Ok, it says Demo, maybe it works for the editor too.


No Audio... Sad

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8934
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fwiw, although not brilliant, the G2 demo works okay in WINE, and on WinOnX (which essentially wine for £3 on the Appstore).
_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
eXisteNz



Joined: Jun 08, 2010
Posts: 45
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:11 pm    Post subject: capozzi's method Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi everbody,
I did some tests and the problem is that new WineBottler versions includes a release of Wine that won’t let our G2 Demo to detect audio card. I’ve uploaded 1.2.3 version of WineBottler and linked it on this tutorial. Please download this version: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/27439691/WineBottlerCombo_1.2.3.dmg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 150
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you eXisteNz,
Did you also tried to install brunov's open source editor with this WineBottler?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 2 of 2 [33 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use