electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
OSX Editor no longer opening
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 2 of 2 [42 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
ocp



Joined: Sep 14, 2004
Posts: 512
Location: Porto, Portugal
Audio files: 9

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here's the link: http://www.clavia.se/G2/NM_OSX_Ed/NordModEditorMacOSX.sit

I'll try opening it with a different version of Stuffit now...

_________________
http://joaoricardo.org | http://pygar.pt.vu | http://myspace.com/boiar | http://doporto.pt.to | http://myspace.com/fanfarraimprovisada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I got it. Thx for the link. The application runs fine here. I unstuffed it with SDLX 10. I reckon the problem is locally on your mac. But that is good. This means we will be able to sort this out eventually.
Very Happy

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ocp



Joined: Sep 14, 2004
Posts: 512
Location: Porto, Portugal
Audio files: 9

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I just opened the .sit file with Stuffit Expander 7.0.1 and now it works!
Thanks for the hints ; )

Very Happy

_________________
http://joaoricardo.org | http://pygar.pt.vu | http://myspace.com/boiar | http://doporto.pt.to | http://myspace.com/fanfarraimprovisada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chaosmoon



Joined: Jan 11, 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hello all!

My name is carlos and i'm an absolute monkey on my modular. I pop by here every once in a while and browse through the threads usually learning a lot from what i read.

I just upgraded to 10.4.3 on my powerbook and the editor opens every second try. The first time i force quit. Actually i can live with that but the memory leak and 20% processor power the editor comes with worries me a bit.

I've noticed the leak before on panther aswell.

Does it leak for y'all too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seawolf



Joined: Sep 11, 2005
Posts: 20
Location: chicago illinois usa

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:38 am    Post subject: Nmedit Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I wouldn't be surprised if there were also memory leaks on my copy, but haven't checked.

I know many of you already know this, but an open source Nord Modular editing program is in the works, with one of its goals to be ported to OS X. I urge any of you who have development expertise to sign up for the mailing list & help out;
http://nmedit.sourceforge.net/



Kind Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ocp



Joined: Sep 14, 2004
Posts: 512
Location: Porto, Portugal
Audio files: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Have you tried uninstalling and installing it again?
I'm running 10.4.4 now and the editor seems to work fine, just as it did under 10.4.3.

_________________
http://joaoricardo.org | http://pygar.pt.vu | http://myspace.com/boiar | http://doporto.pt.to | http://myspace.com/fanfarraimprovisada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chaosmoon



Joined: Jan 11, 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I downloaded the editor again and messed around for a bit and it seems that the memory leak is related to certain modules like "audio in" and "poly area in". Some simpler patches dont leak at all.

I tested by turning off auto upload, starting the editor, making a new patch and adding just an audio-in then leaving it for about 45 minutes. Its up to 100Mb memory and slowly rising.

Can someone recreate this?

Its no big deal but maybe something to be aware of if your using the editor in OSX over long periods of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

chaosmoon wrote:
hello all!


Hey, baby, haven't we met before, somewhere?

:¬p

Welcome on board.

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
chaosmoon



Joined: Jan 11, 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hey Kassen!

its light here..

I'll be quiet now. Until i've done them workshops..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Reality



Joined: Jun 20, 2006
Posts: 6
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all,

Does the nord modular work ok with oswx 10.4.6, anyone have that setup? Also how is the open source nord modular editor comin along, any dates or progress reports.

Thanks,

Reality
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

....seems to work fine with 10.4.6.. same bugs though..
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Reality



Joined: Jun 20, 2006
Posts: 6
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi electro80

Thanks for the info.
Also how is the open source nord modular editor comin along, any dates or progress reports.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20730
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 158
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Reality wrote:

Also how is the open source nord modular editor comin along, any dates or progress reports.


The website is at http://nmedit.sourceforge.net/index.html

The mailing list has been quiet for months

The java implementation does some stuff and it looks great, but its not finished as far as I know.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LittleBox



Joined: Sep 03, 2006
Posts: 11
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

foss wrote:
AHA!

i have fixed it. This is what the problem was for others that might have the same. I had followed out an article called "tracking the big cats" from electronic musician magazine so when i installed OSX i had done the minimum install to increase performance. This included using minimal Fonts.....this was the problem! I downloaded Aerial and Geneva from the Clavia site and now the editor boots as normal again and finds my nord=]

foss


Hello,

I'm a new user of the NM G1 and I have the same problem on a iBook G4 on OS X.3.9.
The error message is also about the "graphic application".
So I don't know where I can find and download the Aerial and Geneva fonts... Could you help me please ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try this one: ze fønts
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LittleBox



Joined: Sep 03, 2006
Posts: 11
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ho ! Thank you so much ! You're great !
My NM G1 is full fonctionnaly ! I'm so happy !
It was a long time that I have this problem, on my desktop computer it works but on my iBook I never find the problem.
I don't understand why, with the same OS on the two differents computers, there have not the same fonts.... and Apple don't give them with the updates.
So... thank you again and sorry for my english.... I'm French... But I like the northest country... and cold weather...
I give you this for thanks, it's my personnal website and my compositions :

http://www.mybeatbox.org/

Seee youuuu...... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This isn´t really Apple´s fault. The NM-1 font issue is a bit messy and it is way too late to expect Clavia to get this right. Very Happy
Anyways, the solution is very simple.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 2 of 2 [42 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use