electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Antimon Antimon's Half Year Report
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
Question about Roland td-3 drumset
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
guitar_player



Joined: Mar 10, 2006
Posts: 3
Location: home

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:31 am    Post subject: Question about Roland td-3 drumset Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi! Three days ago i've bought a new drumset Roland td-3 kv. It costed 1150 euros. It's great.
I'm really happy. I can play at home! I have a question: how to connect additional sounds
to my td-3 module. One forum (http://drumset.bravehost.com) says, that it's possible, but i don't
how to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That dumset.bravehost thingie isn´t a forum. What I am seeing is this:

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

I am pretty sure you are seeing the same.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17606
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 124
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yup, the same thing...
_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
paul e.



Joined: Sep 22, 2003
Posts: 1567
Location: toronto, canada
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

you will need a Roland Trigger-->MIDI convertor....
_________________
Spiral Recordings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
opg



Joined: Mar 29, 2004
Posts: 954
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Not possible with any drum brain. This is one of my biggest pet peeves (why didn't I mention it in the Pet Peeve thread?). You'll need a trigger to MIDI convertor like paul said, and then connect it to a sampler or your computer.

Or you could try to build a drum brain / sampler and then brag about it for months but never actually quite finish it like I did.....

Seriously, everything is finished except for the code for the GUI and a USB input. So far, you have to load sounds via a serial port.

http://27b-6.lathan.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mi_dach



Joined: Dec 17, 2005
Posts: 133
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:14 am    Post subject: trigger-midi converter Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

opg wrote:
Not possible with any drum brain. This is one of my biggest pet peeves (why didn't I mention it in the Pet Peeve thread?). You'll need a trigger to MIDI convertor like paul said, and then connect it to a sampler or your computer.

Or you could try to build a drum brain / sampler and then brag about it for months but never actually quite finish it like I did.....

Seriously, everything is finished except for the code for the GUI and a USB input. So far, you have to load sounds via a serial port.

http://27b-6.lathan.org


If using a trigger->midi converter, and samples on a computer, how much latency is acceptable in the system? I tolerate 10ms on my guitar, but Im wondering if that much would totally destroy the feel of drumming?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
opg



Joined: Mar 29, 2004
Posts: 954
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have a very low latency on my computer, and I have a Dell with a Pentium 4 (definitely under 1GHz), 512 MB of RAM, and a M-Audio Audiophile 2496 sound card. It works perfectly, and I'm not even using real electronic drums - just some that I built with triggers, mousepads, and PVC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use