electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
G2 Sequencers driving Alesis ION.
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Homebelly



Joined: Sep 08, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 1:48 am    Post subject: G2 Sequencers driving Alesis ION. Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Okay..
Now this one seems a wee bit odd.
In my set up i have a G2, an Ion and a novation nova.
I have built a couple of note sequencers in the G2 and i am able to pipe the information out to my nova through ableton live no problem.
I can record the out put of the G2 as a midi file in to Live and run any number of softsynths using it,,, no problem.
However.
If i patch the ion into the out put of the G2 through live only some patches on the ion will respond. No problem thinks me... it must be the ion arp getting in the way...
Not so.
So next i try and record the out put of the G2 as a midi file in one track of live, drag the file to another track that has the ION on it..
Still no luck.
Next i take the midi out put of the G2 and plug it directly into the midi in of the ion. Unplug every other form of MIDI communication and bingo... the ion responds on every patch???

So...
I don't get it, what could be going on?

I'm also gonna post this to the ion/micron board, but thought i might try here as well..

Cheers.
I can scroll through the ion and some patches will play,,, but not all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1049
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

How odd... Could it be some controller data is finding its way into the midi stream heading towards Live from the G2 which the ION doesn't approve of? If you look in the clip envelope on Live you should be able to find out if there is any control data there.

What happens if you feed the midi straight through, e.g. listen rather than record, does it work then?

_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Homebelly



Joined: Sep 08, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

iPassenger wrote:
How odd... Could it be some controller data is finding its way into the midi stream heading towards Live from the G2 which the ION doesn't approve of?
I thought about that, but alas, no random data being recorded by live.
I have just downloaded the 8.0.5 update, so i'll give it another shot tomorrow.
iPassenger wrote:
What happens if you feed the midi straight through, e.g. listen rather than record, does it work then?

Nope,,,
No response.

And thats the weirdest part, if i record i get an otherwise normal midi file, but the ion will not respond to it.
Like i said, the nova and any softsynth that i feed it to works just fine..
But not the ion???
I'm thinking this is probably an ion issue..
But its bed time for me here in New Zealand...
I'll wrestle with it some more tomorrow..

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Go through the MIDI options in the global settings on your ION and make sure everything is set right for your needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use