electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Thomas Henry designs
Whats up with this 8038 Chip?
Page 1 of 3 [53 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Wild Zebra

Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:46 am    Post subject: Whats up with this 8038 Chip? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm kinda new to all these fancy specialized chips, and was thinking of ordering some for a few of these projects, like the XR2206, LM566, and I ran across this 8038. Are there any layouts for this chip? Has it been optimised Thomas Henry style? Is it worth getting? What about S&H chips like LF398/389? I have a Delton Horn book that has schems for some specialized chips, like S&H and ASDR blah blah

thanks

Coriolis

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, I read somewhere that the 8038 is supposed to be hopeless for 1V/oct control, but then they said that about the XR2206 Rolling Eyes (or did they? maybe I'm just exaggerating). But I've never seen it used for anything synth...

C
fluxmonkey

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

elby designs sells a circuit board for a thomas henry designed linear VCO based on the 8038. tom's usual elegance & simplicity of design, it uses one quad op-amp and a handful of other components, and is very servicable.