electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Kyma
Kyma Mangling FX
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [21 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 3:44 am    Post subject: Kyma Mangling FX Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Mangle Away


KymaMangle.mp3
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  KymaMangle.mp3
 Filesize:  5.73 MB
 Downloaded:  550 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nice sounds Bob! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robsol
Stream Operator


Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 1743
Location: Bristol UK
Audio files: 257

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That sounds pretty radical in headphones! Very Happy

So what's going on in there? Can you give a rough outline?

_________________
Muied Lumens Base Star
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks guys.

I actually did it wearing headphones early this morning, doesn't sound as good through the speakers thats for sure. When I first heard it through my speakers I thought something was wrong with them, very weird!

Its a factory patch with me running stuff from Live into it, I didn't touch the patch. I will have a look in a minute to see if I can work out what it does.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm ordering a Paca today Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Muied Lumens wrote:
That sounds pretty radical in headphones! Very Happy

So what's going on in there? Can you give a rough outline?


Ok I have had a look at the patch.

The left channel of the input audio is split into two paths.

Each path goes through a LowShelf and HighShelf filter and then a compressor.

Each then goes to a REResonator which is a time varying filter whose coefficients have been derived by analysing a audio file with the RE Analysis tool in Kyma.

RE stands for resonator/exciter so basically the analysed audio is the resonator and the input audio is the exciter. The resonator audio is the words you can hear.

These signals then go into a DynamicRangeController which is a compressor/expander and then are mixed into stereo.

Hope this makes sense!

I have included a simple audio example, first is the unprocessed drum track and then the processed audio.


Andy


REExample.mp3
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  REExample.mp3
 Filesize:  631.55 KB
 Downloaded:  414 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robsol
Stream Operator


Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 1743
Location: Bristol UK
Audio files: 257

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Andy! Yes, it makes sense on some level. I have some help from 'The Computer Music Tutorial' which buzzr has mentioned elsewhere.


Congratulations on the purchase buzzr!

_________________
Muied Lumens Base Star
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Smile

Looking forward to this upgrade...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

buzzr wrote:
I'm ordering a Paca today Very Happy


Lets hope you don't have to wait as long as I did!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I talked to Carla yesterday. She said that a Paca was 75% of a loaded Capy. She also mentioned it could be a little more then that as there were not as many processors involved as with a Capy.

I will upgrade within the year, my budget right now does not allow it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

75% of a capy is 21 or 22 expansion cards btw...out of 28 you would have been able to put into it.

The Pacarana of course is 100% more powerful. So, like having two fully loaded capys...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Most the stuff I am doing is using bugger all dsp.

You can overload it with the Spectral stuff with large numbers of partials but that tends to just knacker a single dsp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So you mean overload the audio channel? Or do you mean DSP overloads the CPU Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The CPU.

It doesn't handle it well either, first you get an overload message, then a firewire error and you have to reset the DSP from within Kyma to get it back!

So maybe a bug? I'm not sure as I have only just started playing with the Spectral stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Acoustic Interloper



Joined: Jul 07, 2007
Posts: 1652
Location: Berks County, PA
Audio files: 38

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Will you be bringing it at Halloween? Sure hope so!
_________________
When the stream is deep
my wild little dog frolics,
when shallow, she drinks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
driskel



Joined: Jun 04, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:
The CPU.

It doesn't handle it well either, first you get an overload message, then a firewire error and you have to reset the DSP from within Kyma to get it back!

So maybe a bug? I'm not sure as I have only just started playing with the Spectral stuff.


I have encountered the same thing, but I am a rookie at the Kyma. I know you can set DSP allocation in these situations using a prototype that achieves this goal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yep you can use ForcedProcessorAssignment.

I think SymbolicSound are also fine tuning the scheduling algorithms for the Paca/rana so they should get better over time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bphenix



Joined: Apr 20, 2009
Posts: 17
Location: austin, tx

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There are a couple particular things that trigger DSP allocation issues. One is feedback loops where you read and write things in a loop. This has to be on 1 processor if using the memory writer, so watch out for that. There are a few tricks around it though if you come across that. If you are running into this issue often, feel free to ask the SSC forum. If you post an example, I am sure people will be more than happy to propose solutions.

It seems that the Pacarana also has an issue with a few modules during the port over to the new hardware. In particular, the CrossFilter_long with the setting to maximum causes problems. Just defining the impulse length fixes that issue.

Re: the overload. The Pacarana is much, much less graceful than the Capybara was. SSC indicates that is being worked on so I suspect it should sort out in due time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
bphenix



Joined: Apr 20, 2009
Posts: 17
Location: austin, tx

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

there was a new update today that may help with 'firewire robustness'. this may help with some of the resetting issues. i've also wondered if the amount of IO I have hanging off the macpro is also causing some level of trouble. Apple is known to have some problems with the built in fw bus. i just order a new Sonnet FW800 card as I could use the ports anyway. i'll post if that seems to help at all.

also, a mere 6 days after request there is a new feature to support shutdown hardware upon exit. i love how faster SSC turns around little request like those.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
bar|none



Joined: Jul 06, 2009
Posts: 20
Location: WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah I had a bunch of initial setup issues with my MacPRO 8-core and firewire.

Basically I can't have anything on a hub and I only have 2x 800 and 2x 400 connectors on the PRO.

So I did the same and ordered a sonnet fw 800 card. Hopefully that improves things a lot.

Resposted from thread here
http://www.symbolicsound.com/cgi-bin/forumdisplay.cgi?action=displayprivate&number=1&topic=001023

>>>>>>>>>>>>>
I found an interesting article on the firewire connections on the MacPRO
http://www.barefeats.com/hard95.html

These guys do a lot of performance testing and the interesting part is here.

"Apple continues to produce Macs with FireWire 800 ports, but they always share the same single data channel/controller with the FireWire 400 and USB 2.0 ports. Why is that an issue? For one thing, we've experienced some strange slowdowns in FireWire 800 devices when FireWire 400 devices are added to the mix. And they continue to run slowly until you disconnect the FireWire 400 device and Restart the Mac Pro. "

So I used Sonnet cards in the past with great success, so ordering a Tango Express 800 to get some more reliable and fast ports.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have the 400 sonnet card, works a dream in my MacPro.

I am pretty sure you need to keep the Pacarana and the Konnekt on the same firewire bus if you are connecting them together via the computer though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [21 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Kyma
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use