electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Developers' Corner
A few questions from a newbie synth builder
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
volting

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 7:04 am    Post subject: A few questions from a newbie synth builder
Subject description: VCF's, VCA's and control voltaging XR2206's
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Im new to syth building. Ive messed around with some basic 555 based designs, but now Im looking to something a little more sophisticated.

Iv bought a bunch of XR2206's which I plan to use for VCO's and LFO's
I will use an MCU(probably an Atmega16L) and DAC for control voltages, ADSR's and sequencing.

The block diagram below is the basic idea for the synth, -is this ok? any suggestions ?

My problem is I have no knowledge of VCF and VCA design I'm also unsure how to configure the XR2206 to be voltage controlled.

I have studied all of the basic opamp circuits including integrators, differentiators. Iv also studied the wein bridge , phase shift, and squarewave oscillators, comparators, clipping circuits, dc restoration, peak detectors, active rectifiers, opamp based Pulsewidth modulation circuits, ICL8038, ramp generator , LM566 & LM331.

So I dont think I should have *too* much of a problem learning VCF & VCA design if I could find some online tutorial or similar.

So is there any where that is good place to start to learn about basic VCF & VCA design ?