electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  mosc Back on the air tonight - Twyndyllyngs
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Kyma
Keeping Kyma Alive
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 4 of 6 [128 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

25 hours and still running......

How did your test go Jan, still running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Last night I had like 70 hours on the clock ... didnt check this morning (was late for work Wink ). Will be home again soon ...
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

96 hours now.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I take it thats the longest you have seen then?

So it looks like either the audio or the network may be causing your issues.

Up to 30 hours here, everything seems fine so far....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah longest I ever saw, prolly will let it run a bit longer just to be sure.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

30 hours with the tc connected is something I never had I guess ...
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Shocked

it now ran for 01:20:00 .. it cant even display it ran for 100+ hours Confused

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You are pushing the envelope Jan!

38 hours here and chugging away still....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Also Jan how have you got your firewire linked up?

I Have:

Mac 800 -> Pacarana 800 (left port looking from back)
Pacarana 800 -> Konnekt 400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Also can you type the following in the terminal and past the results here:

system_profiler SPFireWireDataType SPNetworkDataType


cheers

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

50 hours....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have the same linkup, well not now, but when I have it Laughing



Quote:
Also can you type the following in the terminal and past the results here:

system_profiler SPFireWireDataType SPNetworkDataType


Yup, can do, but I have networking off on the Mac currently and not going to retype that all .. anything specific you would want to know?

118 hours now.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Firewire just shows pacarana, Network shows BlueTooth, Ethernet, Firewire, Airport, Bluetooth PAN - all being off as in having no IP address assigned to them.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, I have an older XML dump, it then had the TC connected and WIFI was on ... http://bluehell.electro-music.com/small_stuff/labtobbe4.spx.xml those should be the only changes .. oh and some less software running now, but otherwise the same info seems to be in there too.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I Just weaned to look at some version numbers, but our OSes are so out of kilter it isn't much use Sad

One thing that might be worth trying is deleting your FW network device in System Preferences->Network although I am sure that is nothing to do with anything.

My guess is that mine is going to keep running here which doesn't help much!

I can keep it running till the weekend when I am going to have to move stuff around again.

I surpose you have to gradually re-introduce stuff till it stops working, it is a bit of a bugger it takes quite a time to fail for you, makes testing different setups a bit of a pain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:
I surpose you have to gradually re-introduce stuff till it stops working, it is a bit of a bugger it takes quite a time to fail for you, makes testing different setups a bit of a pain.


Yeah, that's what I will be doing Crying or Very sad

Anyway, thanks for trying it Andy, gives me hope it could actually work with the TC!

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

And I was wrong, Just got up and it looks dead, 58 hours on the clock. Front panel looks good and responds but I have no audio.

I will get a coffee and see whats going on....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK here is what I see.

There is no sound.

The pacarana seems fine, the front panel is responding.

One of the DSP chips is at 44% so I would say it is still running the patch, the I/O % is rangineing between 20-75%, the case temp has dropped 1 degree from how it was when everything was working fine.

The VCS controls are working but the dice is not having any effect.

The DSP Status window is dead.

Kyma itself is responding and looks fine, I recycled memory and that worked.

Then I did the old CTRL/SHIFT Status to get the log and the "Please turn on or connect your Kyma signal processor" appeared, clicking on OK just brings this dialog back after a while.

After a while of doing this I got "The Pacarana is not responding Unhandled bus reset or a firewire error. (22)

So now I disconnect both firewire cables from the back of the pacarana and re-connect them. I set up the K48 from the front panel, At this point the kyma reconnects ok and the DSP figure goes down to 1% so it looks like it has been initialised in some way.

Now I try to get debug log again, it seems to be working on it……..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Still got the spinning watch, got a feeling I am not getting a debug log out of this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Spoke too soon, got a log 8.5MB so looks good, I will contact Symbolic and send it to them mentioning your name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, email sent, I have included you on it.

Interestingly I can run the patch again after reconnecting the firewire cables, I did not have to power cycle!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm not alone Laughing
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If we both badger them we might get it sorted Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20623
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Meanwhile I got a message from symbolic sound that they stopped testing after 50 hours because they needed the computer for something else .. it looks like they are just finding me a silly fool to want this thing to be reliable over weeks instead of days.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have had no reply from them yet.

Did you get the email I sent them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 4 of 6 [128 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Kyma
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use