electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  mosc Back on the air tonight - Twyndyllyngs
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
NM1 freeze on power up
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
palimpsest



Joined: Jun 01, 2005
Posts: 3
Location: New York City

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:52 am    Post subject: NM1 freeze on power up Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hello all,
I just got a used NM1 (keyboard) on ebay. I'm mostly really pleased with the unit, however I noticed that at times when I power up, the LED will light up but will never make it to the title prompt. This problem occurs more frequently when I have the power cable extended (for it's full length) from the plug. I am by no means applying ANY pressure or stress to the cable. I also noticed that at times, if I push in or apply pressure into the back of the unit, it will power up fine. This seems to be a workaround, but I was wondering if there is a larger issue with my NM1. Would swapping the plug into a power conditioner make a difference? does this sound like a software or power issue (I reinitialized and loaded the newest os, btw) and has anyone else experience anything similar? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17618
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 125
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome to our forum. Congrats on your new NM.

I gave away my NM when I got a G2, but I never experienced anything like you are seeing when I had it.

_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:12 am    Post subject: Re: NM1 freeze on power up Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

palimpsest wrote:
hello all,
I just got a used NM1 (keyboard) on ebay. I'm mostly really pleased with the unit, however I noticed that at times when I power up, the LED will light up but will never make it to the title prompt. This problem occurs more frequently when I have the power cable extended (for it's full length) from the plug. I am by no means applying ANY pressure or stress to the cable. I also noticed that at times, if I push in or apply pressure into the back of the unit, it will power up fine. This seems to be a workaround, but I was wondering if there is a larger issue with my NM1. Would swapping the plug into a power conditioner make a difference? does this sound like a software or power issue (I reinitialized and loaded the newest os, btw) and has anyone else experience anything similar? thanks


Seems to be a problem with the powerchord itself...or with the chords connection to the powerregulation board... can happen with these direkt apllied powerchords....you should cut off the last 20 cm and reinstall it...
If you are not technican enough find someone that can help you..its rather a mechanik work and dont needs a Nord Modular service center.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
palimpsest



Joined: Jun 01, 2005
Posts: 3
Location: New York City

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:01 am    Post subject: Re: NM1 freeze on power up Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

3phase wrote:
palimpsest wrote:
hello all,
I just got a used NM1 (keyboard) on ebay. I'm mostly really pleased with the unit, however I noticed that at times when I power up, the LED will light up but will never make it to the title prompt. This problem occurs more frequently when I have the power cable extended (for it's full length) from the plug. I am by no means applying ANY pressure or stress to the cable. I also noticed that at times, if I push in or apply pressure into the back of the unit, it will power up fine. This seems to be a workaround, but I was wondering if there is a larger issue with my NM1. Would swapping the plug into a power conditioner make a difference? does this sound like a software or power issue (I reinitialized and loaded the newest os, btw) and has anyone else experience anything similar? thanks


Seems to be a problem with the powerchord itself...or with the chords connection to the powerregulation board... can happen with these direkt apllied powerchords....you should cut off the last 20 cm and reinstall it...
If you are not technican enough find someone that can help you..its rather a mechanik work and dont needs a Nord Modular service center.


are you certain it's a power issue? because it never fails to power up, it's just that it occasionally doesn't make it to the "Nord Modular V.3.03" prompt , and just stays at a lit up grey-green LED. I'm not a tech myself, and I'm not sure if I want to have someone modify the electronics if it is a software problem. How can I check if it's a connection problem? I have no problem taking it apart as long as I can put it back together

thanks for the responses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use