electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The Repair Shop
Triggering a drum on two consecutive beats with 4017
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Meehah

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 4:29 am    Post subject: Triggering a drum on two consecutive beats with 4017 Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello.

I am quite new to electronics, particularly CMOS, so I apologise if I am not using the right terms.

I have completed an extremely primitive drum machine using a 4017 for sequencing that works well with one issue. Because the 4017's output pulses have no gaps between them, when I have two consecutive pulses going to the trigger input of one drum, it acts as if it is just one continuous pulse and so only plays on the first.

Is there any way to make these separate beats with a gap in between? Sorry if this doesn't make sense, I've included a drawing depicting what I mean. In the drawing, Currently is what I have now, Desired is what I'm looking to make.

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

Thank you very much.
Grumble

Audio files: 30

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You could try this, but probably have to tinker a bit with the values of the c's and R's

pulses.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  7.09 KB
 Viewed:  6245 Time(s)

pulses.PNG

PHOBoS

Audio files: 705