electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Nord Modular Keyboard Classic no sound
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mtvic



Joined: Feb 03, 2003
Posts: 481
Location: Quakertown,PA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:16 pm    Post subject: Nord Modular Keyboard Classic no sound Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There is a nord modular keyboard for auction on ebay cheap.
And I am Thinking about it but as the description states :

"WORKS FOR A FEW MINUTES AND THEN STOPS. I TALKED TO A FRIEND OF MINE IN THE KEYBOARD DEPT OF A MUSIC CHAINSTORE, HE SAID IT PROBABLY NEEDS TO BE RESET USING A COMPUTER OR IT HAS A BAD DSP CHIP"

Has anyone had a this problem and knows of a fix .
Please tell me soon as I am waiting for some feedback before I bid .
I do not want to be stuck with a classic nord modular keyboard that
will need an expensive repair.

Sonically
mtvic

_________________
"I'm the transmitter' I give information."
"You're the antenna,catch the vibration."
>>> Kraftwerk Radioactivity<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
deknow



Joined: Sep 15, 2004
Posts: 1307
Location: Leominster, MA (USA)
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

...if the whole thing powers down (lights go out) the powersupply might be suspect (and might be an easy fix). if everything stays lit up, but the sound dies, it could be just about any component.

i'd call armadillo (the us distributor), and find out if they still support the unit, and find out a worse case scenereo repair. it might not be so bad to replace the board (cheaper than troubleshooting it unless it's an easy one). i'm not familliar with these under the hood, so there may be some specific things that i don't know about....good luck!

deknow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20273
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hmm, and even when the power shuts off after a minute or so it could be anything, from a heqatsink not well fitted in the power supply to the main board drawing too much current due to a leaky capacitor, or a bad as a PCB fault which would be near impossible to repair.

To be able to change a chip on the main board you better be good, you need good eyes, steady hands, good tools, and it certainly helps when you did it before.

I'd not buy it (unless you feel lucky for reason :-), when it would be really easy I'd think the seller would have fixed it to be able to get more money for it.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mtvic



Joined: Feb 03, 2003
Posts: 481
Location: Quakertown,PA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

deknow and Blue Hell,
Thank you.
I've decided not to buy it and save for a G2.

_________________
"I'm the transmitter' I give information."
"You're the antenna,catch the vibration."
>>> Kraftwerk Radioactivity<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gothboy



Joined: Feb 21, 2006
Posts: 361
Location: New England States
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wise choice, I almost went for it myself.......decided on a micro. You don't want to end up with a DOA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
emSynth

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use