electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Intermittent MIDI sequencer triggering.
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
wyleu



Joined: Jun 26, 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Sandbach,Cheshire, UK
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:50 am    Post subject: Intermittent MIDI sequencer triggering. Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm trying to sequence a piece by the Sea Nymphs called Engleheart http://www.anyware.co.uk/williamddrake/audio/sea-nymphs_engleheart.mp3

And am trying to do the harmonium backing using a MIDI sequence see attach...

I'm sequencing the Horn Model Patch as it happens which only occasionally plays all the notes , which seems peculiar as it should have plenty of note polyphony to cope.
Similar effect on a very basic VCO VCF ENV patch in slot B

Could some one please explain the effect I'm getting as it's a bit disconcerting and is really only a simple development of the help file for the sequencer.

Also how can I control the MIDI out channel of both MIDI Outs from one knob?
I can't see an obvious method.


engleheart seq.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  engleheart seq.pch2
 Filesize:  1.76 KB
 Downloaded:  923 Time(s)


_________________
Taz says:- 'My Sub My Rules'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1172
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 141

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Intermittent MIDI sequencer triggering. Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

wyleu wrote:

Also how can I control the MIDI out channel of both MIDI Outs from one knob?
I can't see an obvious method.


This is not possible yet but mightbecome a futural feature...
In the moment its not possible to assign the midiswitching to a morph.
I once made a feature wish to clavia... I asked for a midi master bus that than can be destinated to a destination channel by a special midi mastermodule...
Maybe when enough people want/ask for such a thing Clavia will think about it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wyleu



Joined: Jun 26, 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Sandbach,Cheshire, UK
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for that 3 phase. So much for the play this polyphonic sequence on different machines knob... Sad

I've dug why may into the manual and can see no mention of the ordering of sequencers but I wonder if things are not being ordered concurrently. The sequence drops behaves correctly when only running one of the 'channels' On/OFF switches . But as soon as both play there seems to be some drifting and notes appear and dissappear.It will seem to get it right after an initial stop/start but fall apart as things progress. In this context it actually works quite well as a dusty old harmonium, but I would prefer a bit of control over the effect.

_________________
Taz says:- 'My Sub My Rules'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2503
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I noticed your Polyphony (Voice Mode) is set to 8...which means the sequencers/NOTE sends 8 of the same command at the same time.

Maybe this is your problem? Try turning the polyphony to MONO.

As for changing BOTH midi channels...try changing the channels to "THIS", then, when you want to change MIDI channel, change it in system settings for that slot. I think that's the only way to do it. The slot you are controlling would have to be assigned to the same MIDI channel while it's being controlled. Seems backwards, but if changing all MIDI out channels at the same time was necessary, I think it's all you can do with the current modules in v1.24.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wyleu



Joined: Jun 26, 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Sandbach,Cheshire, UK
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That is indeed the problem.

So if I have polyphony set to 3 in the sequencer module I will get 3 MIDI on events for each positive edge supplied to the MIDI out module gate input?


Thank you for the MIDI routing tip as well.

_________________
Taz says:- 'My Sub My Rules'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use