electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Radio-button constants
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jamos



Joined: Jun 01, 2004
Posts: 470
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:35 am    Post subject: Radio-button constants Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey all;

I'd like to use four (or more) front-panel buttons to select one of four (or more) fixed voltage levels. The buttons should display as radio buttons - that is, activating one would deactivate all others.

At the moment I can't figure out how to do this.. suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 608

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That’s not easy. This patch functions but has some issues.

    No visual feedback for which value is selected.
    Won’t work on zero or negative values.
    You have to hold the button down and turn the knob to hear the change in value.
    Output will be zero on patch load till 1st button press


Would be nice to have an alternate assign mode for the radio button switch modules.


radioVal.pch2
 Description:
test

Download
 Filename:  radioVal.pch2
 Filesize:  1.16 KB
 Downloaded:  849 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17611
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 125
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This idea may be over the top, but why not use 4 variations?
_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
jamos



Joined: Jun 01, 2004
Posts: 470
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mosc wrote:
This idea may be over the top, but why not use 4 variations?


That would work, but I hate using variations for this kind of thing.

've found that, once I start using variations in a patch, it's hard to extend the patch by adding new modules, since the new modules have to be programmed in all 8 variations. So at this point, when my patch is still evolving, I don't want to use variations.

So perhaps I'll use that as a final solution when the patch is otherwise mature. Thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20536
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

[quote="jamos"]
mosc wrote:

've found that, once I start using variations in a patch, it's hard to extend the patch by adding new modules, since the new modules have to be programmed in all 8 variations.


Using Ctrl+C to copy one or more moduls, press 1 .. 8 to go to another variation, then press ctrl+E to copy the values to those modules makes it go a bit faster.

Jan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wan



Joined: Mar 31, 2004
Posts: 255
Location: Netherlands, Ugchelen
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 46

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:49 am    Post subject: Re: Radio-button constants Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

jamos wrote:
Hey all;

I'd like to use four (or more) front-panel buttons to select one of four (or more) fixed voltage levels. The buttons should display as radio buttons - that is, activating one would deactivate all others.

At the moment I can't figure out how to do this.. suggestions?


Hi Jamos,

I was intrigued by this one, so here is my try. It acts as a radio button, but only the lights will not stay lit so you can't see what value was the last pressed. For the rest it kinda works.

Press a key and then press the radiobutton on knobs a1/a4...

Is this what you want?


Radiobutton.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Radiobutton.pch2
 Filesize:  1.52 KB
 Downloaded:  776 Time(s)


_________________
Grtz Wan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2485
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sorry, no nord in front of me, but this should do it.

The switches must be unipolar to set the logic, I believe. The OR gates tell the CTL Send modules to send "0" to all the OTHER switches, turning off what ever was previously selected.

If you need something besides Unipolar, combine this patch with what WAN posted.

Requires 4 MIDI CC's.


Radiobutton-1.pch2
 Description:
example of Radio select buttons (1 of 4)

Download
 Filename:  Radiobutton-1.pch2
 Filesize:  1.55 KB
 Downloaded:  856 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use