electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
  Twyndyllyngs Special Monday edition of Chez Mosc
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Broken NL3 or not?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:37 pm    Post subject: Broken NL3 or not?
Subject description: Can it be fixed by myself?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

my first posting and already with a problem. Wink

A few years ago i bought s/h a NL3. Lately it seems that there´s a annoying noise in the signal pathway, that can also be heard on the headphone output.

An example of the noise you can download as wave here: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de/post/britzelbass/

Usually you can´t hear that noise when doing pad or lead sounds or fx sounds, but mostly in bass sounds you can hear this. Is it something i can fix myself or what else can i do?

Please help me. I´ve written Clavia already a dozen emails about it. So far no reaction from their side.

Kind regards, Töm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Are you able to post the SySex file?
I would like to try it out on my NordLead3.

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hm, i´ve never done that before but let me check.
_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you're on a Windows machine, you can use Clavia's Nord Sound Manager.

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No, i´m on Mac
_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Any computer based tool which can send and receive Sysex?

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hmmm, i have to look for one on OSX.
_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It could be very handy, so you can archive your NL3 patches on the computer.

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wout Blommers wrote:
It could be very handy, so you can archive your NL3 patches on the computer.

Wout


Hm, i don´t know why, but i never had the wish to do that...but let me see i found this one: http://www.snoize.com/SysExLibrarian/

_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok...i never used MIDI together with my Mac, so i had to figure out first, why in the world my Mac doesn´t show those M-Audio Midi Drivers and furthermore...why is ASM crashing? Took me a while to get it working. But now, i attached a Bass Sound. Best played in lower Octaves, with one key pressed a little bit longer, with a long sustain. And crank the volume up and lower the cutoff frequency a bit.

Do you hear also that little machine-buzz-noise? It actually responses to ADSR it seems and gets louder when you open the resonance. Is this supposed to be in this patch or is my NL3 broken? I have this noise also found with some more patches.


4-8-Bass-Sound.syx
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  4-8-Bass-Sound.syx
 Filesize:  261 Bytes
 Downloaded:  260 Time(s)


_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html

Last edited by dreinulldrei on Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

And here is another SysEx. Play it in lowest octave and lowest key, closed cutoff, open resoncance. On my NL3 i hear clearly a nasty machine-buzz-noise. An MP3 of it here: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de/post/noise-nl3/

Please beware of the volume. Very deep frequency in this.

Let me see, if i can find a patch, that produces that noise in higher regions. I think i stumbled recently about one.


2-9-Oberheim.syx
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  2-9-Oberheim.syx
 Filesize:  261 Bytes
 Downloaded:  261 Time(s)


_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Found another one. DynoRhodz. Not tweaked at all, center octave.


2-38-DynoRodz.syx
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  2-38-DynoRodz.syx
 Filesize:  261 Bytes
 Downloaded:  256 Time(s)


_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

A wav file from the Rhodes noise can be found here: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de/files/noise-NL3-2.wav
_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

At my NL3 there is no extra noise...

Now a way to find the trouble.

Wout


ThreeSounds.wav
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  ThreeSounds.wav
 Filesize:  8.13 MB
 Downloaded:  402 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sad

Thank you Wout for checking at least. Any idea what it could be?

It is clearly influenced by the ADSR, so it can´t be some distortion of the signal outputs, rather must be something else inside the circuits.

What also drives me crazy is that with most patches you can´t hear it, but with certain ones you do. Especially that Rhodz patch shows it loud and clear. Maybe the FM section is warped?

What i haven´t tried yet is to backup all sounds and do a full hardware reset (if that´s possible).

_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Damn it! I found the cause for the noise! It´s the Unison feature! When i switch it off, the noise is gone as well! Any idea if this can be fixed?
_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Personally I think there something wrong with the DAC's...
Maybe you better contact:

Sound Service GmbH
Bundesallee 86-88
D-12161 Berlin
Germany
Phone: +43-(0)662-442164
Fax: +43-(0)662-442194
website: http://www.soundservice.de

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wout Blommers wrote:
Personally I think there something wrong with the DAC's...
Maybe you better contact:

Sound Service GmbH
Bundesallee 86-88
D-12161 Berlin
Germany
Phone: +43-(0)662-442164
Fax: +43-(0)662-442194
website: http://www.soundservice.de

Wout


Ah good, thank you! I´ll try that. No i don´t believe the DAC´s have a problem, since when Unison is switched off, everything works like a charme. Maybe that little Unison/Chorus generator fx is somehow warped. Hm.

Maybe it´s the "filter click"? http://lists.h4z.net/pipermail/nordlist/2003-June/000121.html

_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I called "Synthesizer Service Department" the only company in Germany who repairs Clavia Synths. They told me that the DSP board probably needs to get replaced. A few hundred euros.
_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dreinulldrei wrote:
... They told me that the DSP board probably needs to get replaced. A few hundred euros.

Replacing the DSP board is rather easy. They won't allow you to do it yourself (They want to make some money too), but maybe the best way is to make an appointment and make the trip to them. It wil be done in twenty minutes, so you can take your synth back. The best way to transport the synth is by yourself...

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The trip to the store would take me about a day and a couple more hundred Euros, since i am in the north of Germany, and they are in the far south in a little village. Sad

The most expensive part is the board itself. They told me that one DSP is like 80Euro. Shocked

If i mail it to them (via UPS or so) they can also fix some other thing ("Store" button is stucking all the time) and do an overall system check.

_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, the repair will cost (including 19% tax) 400Euro. And they will also fix the stuck "Store" button.

I think i´ll do that. I really like my NL3 and it´s the most used synth in my studio.

_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

And the story continues...guess what...since last year, in which the EU made a law that forbit lead in electronic circuitry...Clavia is no longer producing the DSP Board for the NL3...so i can´t get a replacement. Now they offered to repair the one i have....geez...that will take a couple of weeks, i guess.
_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That's real s**t!
The only funny part is there is no 'lead' in a 'Lead' anymore, but that won't help you much... Sad

BTW which part is broken, since they will not replace the whole board?

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dreinulldrei



Joined: Aug 28, 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wout Blommers wrote:
That's real s**t!
The only funny part is there is no 'lead' in a 'Lead' anymore, but that won't help you much... Sad

BTW which part is broken, since they will not replace the whole board?

Wout


Yeup. Only a Nord 3 then. Razz

They would replace the whole DSP board...if there would be still DSP boards available...but Clavia don´t have those anymore. So my guess is that they will replace the DSP chips and see if the problem is still there and go from there.

It´s a shame that they don´t have replacement boards for their 2000Euro performance synth flagship anymore. And yes the NL3 is out of production. And i doubt they will introduce a NL4, the NL2x is selling too well for that. I consider to downgrade...otoh the NL3 interface is the best and most advanced i ever found in a synth so far.

_________________
Blog: http://dreinulldrei.wordpress.com
Podcast: http://geschnittenbrot.podspot.de
Project: http://www.notype.com/nishi/members/monokit.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use