electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Developers' Corner
Beginner in need of a few basic answers
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Perejil

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:42 pm    Post subject: Beginner in need of a few basic answers Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am not new to electronics but I am new to synths and I'm looking at building them.

I understand all the circuit diagrams (as I said, i'm not new to electronics) but I don't fully understand how things connect together. I want to keep my first project relatively simple, and I wanted to know, can a VCO go straight to a VCA without worrying about envelopes and filters? or is ADSR an essential part of the system? (I've been looking at the diagrams on www.musicfromouterspace.com). I realise it would be less sophisticated but would it at least make music?

My other question is, what is the function of the control voltage on the VCA? does it control the amplitude in the way it controls frequency in the VCO or is it something else?

Many thanks, and I apologise for being so uninformed.
DrJustice

Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Beginner in need of a few basic answers Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Perejil,

welcome to electro-music.com!

Perejil wrote:
...can a VCO go straight to a VCA without worrying about envelopes and filters?