electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Emagic MIDI Patchbays with Mac OS X 10.9?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
paugui



Joined: Jun 28, 2008
Posts: 539
Location: Marinha Grande, Portugal / Oslo, Norway
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 37

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:00 am    Post subject: Emagic MIDI Patchbays with Mac OS X 10.9? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all

Yesterday I received a set of Emagic MIDI patch bays, composed of two Unitor 8 MkIIs and two MT4s.

Unfortunately, the previous owner did the crappiest job possible packing them, which resulted in a PC RS 232 port getting bent, as there was no bubble wrap or anything between units...

I think the units should be properly working, and the damage is just outer damage, but at the moment, I am unable to confirm...

I tried to install the Unitor Family Driver 2.5, but in my MacBook Pro, running Mac OS X 10.9, I get a message that says the update is not necessary...
However, it doesn't seem to detect any of the interfaces when they are connected via USB...

I also had a look at this site - http://www.potm.org/software/Unitor/ - but it seems that version 0.9.8 for Mac OS X 10.9 is actually not available, as when I check the version I downloaded, it mentions Mac OS X 10.6 in the instructions and after it is installed, it says 0.9.7 in the "About" section...
And of course, I can't make it work either...

When I got them, I was thinking of just using them with an older computer, if I couldn't get them to work.
But since the package was so poorly done, I would like to check them properly to be sure they didn't develop problems other than the obvious outer damage...

Does anyone here has an idea on how to make it work that could give me some help? Smile


Thanks in advance,
Best regards

Paulo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 1078
Location: Out scouting . . .

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 3:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Emagic MIDI Patchbays with Mac OS X 10.9? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

paugui wrote:
Yesterday I received a set of Emagic MIDI patch bays, composed of two Unitor 8 MkIIs and two MT4s.
I have 2 MT4s. They date to the days of Win 98 SE. Sometimes I have had them working under XPSP3, but not predictably. Someone here posted instructions for how to use the Unitor program/drivers successfully under post Win 98 SE Windows, but I never had it work. At the moment, I have one MT4 as a dumb interface powered by usb on a Windows 10 PC. I use it as a 1 In -> 4 Out box in standalone mode. I have heard of people getting Windows software working with the MT4's big brother.
--Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paugui



Joined: Jun 28, 2008
Posts: 539
Location: Marinha Grande, Portugal / Oslo, Norway
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 37

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So, if I want to use the MT4s as a MIDI Thru Box, all I need is to connect the USB to power, right?
It can be connected to a computer or to a USB power supply for that result, right?

And if I connect a device to each of the MIDI inputs, will it act as a MIDI merger with 4 outputs?

If that's the case, I should at least be able to give it a test Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 1078
Location: Out scouting . . .

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

paugui wrote:
So, if I want to use the MT4s as a MIDI Thru Box, all I need is to connect the USB to power, right?
It can be connected to a computer or to a USB power supply for that result, right?
Yes. As a standalone unit, you cannot program it or even select presets like you can with MOTU midi interfaces (among others).
paugui wrote:
And if I connect a device to each of the MIDI inputs, will it act as a MIDI merger wtryith 4 outputs?
At present I am using just one of the inputs. I will test with two inputs; not sure if they get merged and sent to all 4 outs.
I do recall that the Casio DH-100's constant stream of breath data (D0h) caused the MT-4 to have stuck notes. So if it does merge data, try not to clog it! But it is worth a try.
Steve
PS: I presently have mine receiving the usb midi out from an E-Mu Xmidi2x2 interface. It basically distributes the midi as a dumb thru box. One option is to have 4 sound modules, each on a different midi channel. Another is to have 4 modules, each set up to respond to a range. Unit 1 (out 1) responding to midi channels 1-4, Unit 2 (out 2) responding to channels 5-9, etc.

I am not sure if sysex data can be sent via midi to change the configuration of the MT4. I don't recall ever seeing a sysex guide. I suppose I could use midi-ox on an XP machine to see if the software uses sysex to change settings. Considering how old it is, I doubt it.

Addendum: For more on Unitor Control, Unitor 8, and mt4, see http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-21016-0.html&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

Addendum 2: Just to give you an idea of how a "dumb" mt4 can be used, I have this configuration:
Audio PC <usb> E-Mu 2x2 Midi Interface
E-Mu 2x2 -5-pin DIN Out 1-> emagic mt4 In 1
The mt4 is currently sending the midi out as follows:
--port 1 to Roland M-GS64 # 1
--port 2 to Roland M-GGS4 # 2
At some point I can also send the midi out to two other modules.

Although all 16 channels would be sent to all 4 units, I can channelize the midi data by configuring the receive channels of modules. For example, unit 1 responds to channels 1-7, unit 2 responds to channel 8, unit 3 responds to channels 9-15, unit 4 responds to channel 16.

So, from a usb keyboard I can choose which ever unit/channel I want (live performance modality, but multi-track recording/playback can be done, too).

If you can get a newer computer to see the emagic interfaces as fully functional usb devices and the Unitor Control software to work, great. But based on many hours of trying to find ways to get ancient emagic drivers to work, I suggest limiting the amount of time trying to get it to happen.

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use