electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
go to the radio page Live at electro-music.com radio 1 Please visit the chat
  host / artist show at your time
today> LIVE TONIGHT Twyndyllyngs Chez Mosc
poster
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Kraakdoos...it doesn't work arggg
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
benfox



Joined: Feb 03, 2006
Posts: 14
Location: france

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:56 pm    Post subject: Kraakdoos...it doesn't work arggg Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,
I've try to built the Kraakdoos...it doesn't work arggg
I only have humming sounds or white noises...I use a 709 but it's the 14 pins version is it a problem ? I've check the pinout from the datasheet
pin 1 = pin 3 (in the 14pin version)
pin 8 = pin12 ( in the 14pin version)

I notice that there is differences beetween this shematic :
http://www.logosfoundation.org/kursus/2005.html
and this one
http://www.eam.se/kraakdoos/
I follow the last one because it seems more clear to me.
I use bc558 and bc548 instead of 557 and 547 (is it a problem ?)

Any idea on what's going wrong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benfox



Joined: Feb 03, 2006
Posts: 14
Location: france

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

is it the right place to post it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2503
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

THis is the right place. LEt me dig up those parts & see what I find. I'll back to you tomorrow!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bugbrand



Joined: Nov 27, 2005
Posts: 846
Location: Bristol, UK
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hiya Ben

I've used 14pin 709s just fine.

I'Ve sometimes had wierd noise problems - especially seemed to happen when I tried using larger touch plates.

I found these 2 mods helped a lot (especially if you try to add the audio output as detailed on my electronics page)::::

1 - add a 10n cap from pin 2 to ground.

2 - add a 1M resistor from the touchplate end of cap C1 (the cap that comes off of pin 1 of the 709)

_________________
http://www.bugbrand.co.uk
http://www.bugbrand.blogspot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benfox



Joined: Feb 03, 2006
Posts: 14
Location: france

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanx a lot guys...
During my experimentations i lost a bc558...hell
What could i put to replace this one (pnp...i guesss)
I use crocodile claw (you understand). It's with a wire soldered to the board at one end and atthe other there is a claw crocodile style 2centimeters long...
Is it a problem Question
Your cracke box ouput is made for a speaker output i guess but i want to plug it into an amplifier...or a mixing board...with the original output it should work isn't it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bugbrand



Joined: Nov 27, 2005
Posts: 846
Location: Bristol, UK
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yo Ben,

Nah, the standard circuit doesn't work for plugging into an external amp/mixer --- I'd love someone to explain why it doesn't work! My extra circuit works fine to get the sound into the mixer/external amp

For the transistors I've used BC547/BC557s and 2N3904/2N3906 - both work fine and, actually, I've also used a combination of BC547/2N3906 and that worked fine too.. General NPN and PNP configs should work fine I think.

_________________
http://www.bugbrand.co.uk
http://www.bugbrand.blogspot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benfox



Joined: Feb 03, 2006
Posts: 14
Location: france

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok thanx i've add a tiny audio transformer on the output and it works i don't have all the sound i expected even on a speaker.
When you said putting a 1Mega resistor from the pin 1 to ground...i've try it cuts every thing ?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bugbrand



Joined: Nov 27, 2005
Posts: 846
Location: Bristol, UK
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nah, the 1Meg resistor should connect to ground after the cap that connects to pin1 (ie by the touchplate)
_________________
http://www.bugbrand.co.uk
http://www.bugbrand.blogspot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
benfox



Joined: Feb 03, 2006
Posts: 14
Location: france

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sorry for that stupid question forget this one....
Ok i did right now the 1meg is at the right place but i loose a lot of ionteresting sounds with this...so i will not put it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benfox



Joined: Feb 03, 2006
Posts: 14
Location: france

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It dies yesterday....
Am i too much electric for the stuff ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use